MN · Solar

Solar quotes in Saint Cloud, MN.

One real quote from a vetted local Saint Cloud installer, sized to your roof, your bill, and every federal + state rebate you qualify for.

One vetted local installer · no lead list
What you get
  • One vetted local Saint Cloud installer
  • Rebates checked for your exact address
  • No call-center spam, no lead list
7.5 kW
Average system size
$2.90/W
Average cost (USD)
10 yrs
Average payback
130+
Local installers

Why solar in Saint Cloud

Saint Cloud has a university rental market and it shows in the housing numbers: 25.8 percent of units sit in buildings of 20 or more apartments, against a bare majority of 50.2 percent single-family detached. So a quarter of the city's housing is in buildings where the roof belongs to an owner rather than a resident, and a good share of the rest is rented too. On the permit side, the Building Safety Department runs residential permits through the Accela system, and publishes no solar-specific turnaround or fee, which makes the timeline a question rather than an assumption.

What we install on in Saint Cloud

Saint Cloud's housing stock, briefly.

Saint Cloud's housing stock is majority single-family detached (50.2%), with 25.8% of units in buildings of 20 or more apartments, per the Census Bureau's 2020-2024 American Community Survey, reflecting the city's sizable St. Cloud State University rental market.

Source: data.census.gov

A quarter of the housing is large apartment buildings

Buildings of 20 or more apartments account for 25.8 percent of Saint Cloud's housing units, reflecting the city's sizable St. Cloud State University rental market. Single-family detached homes are 50.2 percent, a bare majority rather than the comfortable one you find in most Minnesota cities of this size.

If you are renting, whether in a large building or a house, a rooftop array is not yours to commission. The roof belongs to the owner, and so usually does the account any generation would offset, which means the economics that matter are theirs rather than yours. That is not a reason not to raise it, but it does change the shape of the conversation from a purchase into a proposal.

A proposal to a building owner should cover cost, who owns the equipment, insurance, and what happens when the roof covering is replaced. Those are the questions an owner will ask, and having answers ready is most of the work. In a large building it will also compete with other capital priorities, so expect a longer timeline than any residential quote suggests.

For the 50.2 percent in detached houses that you own, none of this applies and the remaining questions are the roof, the permit and the utility.

Permits run through Accela, with no published solar turnaround

The Building Safety Department processes residential permits through the Accela Permitting and Licensing System. That is useful to know because it tells you the application is an online submission with a trackable status rather than a counter visit, and because it means your installer either has an Accela account and has filed here before, or does not.

What the city's public permits page does not state is a solar-specific turnaround time or fee. Treat that as a gap rather than an absence of process: a rooftop array is exterior work on a building and a permit question exists for it whether or not the page names solar.

So ask the department directly what a rooftop solar submission must contain at your address, what it costs, and what processing time to expect in practice rather than in principle. Ask when you apply, too, since permit queues in construction are seasonal and an application filed outside the busy months usually moves faster.

Then agree in writing with your installer who assembles the application, who submits it and who follows up, and do not accept a payment schedule that ties a deposit to an installation date rather than to permit issuance. Where no turnaround is published, there is no date to hold anyone to.

Confirm your utility, then size against your own usage

Our record does not name an electricity utility for Saint Cloud, so this page will not tell you who yours is. Minnesota has investor-owned utilities, municipal utilities and cooperatives, and they do not all treat customer generation the same way.

Under Minnesota's net metering statute, a qualifying facility under 40 kW interconnected to a public utility may elect compensation at the average retail utility energy rate for net excess generation. That is the framework general Minnesota guides describe, and 40 kW is far above a household system so the cap will not constrain you. Whether the framework governs your service depends on which utility bills you.

Read the name off your bill and ask that utility, in writing, how net excess generation is compensated and at what rate, what the application requires, what interconnection and metering cost, and whether a credit balance is reconciled or expires at some point in the year. An installer's assurance is not a substitute for the utility's answer.

Then size against twelve months of your own kilowatt hour totals rather than against available roof area, and ask your installer to state plainly what export rate their model assumes.

Output, and the credit that no longer applies

Plan on roughly 1,261 kilowatt hours a year for every kilowatt installed on a well oriented, unshaded array. That is a strong figure for Minnesota, and a screening number derived from irradiance data rather than a measurement from Saint Cloud roofs, so treat it as a ceiling for your address.

Orientation erodes it first: a south-facing plane produces the most, east and west planes give up output, and a north plane rarely repays the hardware. Shading erodes it most, because it removes production in the middle of the day, so ask for an assessment across the whole year rather than the hour of the site visit. Check the covering age before anything is ordered, since panels outlast most roof coverings and replacing one afterwards means paying to remove and reinstall the array.

The 30 percent federal residential tax credit under Section 25D applied through December 31, 2025 and is not available for a purchased home system placed in service after that date. A purchase in Saint Cloud now cannot claim it, which lengthens payback and weakens the case for adding a battery.

Much published material still applies it, usually through staleness rather than dishonesty, but the payback figure it produces is wrong. Ask for the arithmetic without it, rebuilt from your utility's compensation terms, the electricity you stop buying, and the installed cost including permit and interconnection charges. If you take a lease or power purchase agreement, the provider may claim the business version of the credit under Section 48E and reflect part of it in the rate offered, which is a question for the provider and a tax advisor.

Incentives & rebates

Net metering: Net metering (Minn. Stat. 216B.164, PUC-regulated investor-owned utilities)

Minnesota requires its electric utilities to offer net metering under Minn. Stat. 216B.164. Residential systems up to 1,000 kW served by investor-owned utilities (and up to 40 kW for cooperatives and municipal utilities) are eligible. Excess generation your panels send to the grid is credited as kilowatt-hour credits on your bill and carries forward month to month, resetting annually. Utilities may not impose standby charges on qualifying systems of 100 kW or less without PUC approval. Xcel Energy is the largest utility in the state and administers net metering for most Twin Cities customers; Minnesota Power serves the Duluth and Iron Range area. Your installer confirms the current net-metering tariff and credit rate for your specific utility before the project is quoted.

How payback works in Minnesota

System cost
$21,750
Estimated net cost
$21,750
Estimated payback
~13.4 years
25-year net savings
~$18,750

These figures are illustrative; your actual quote reflects your roof, sun exposure, and local utility rates.

Frequently asked questions

How do I apply for a permit in Saint Cloud?
Through the Accela Permitting and Licensing System, which the Building Safety Department uses for residential permits. The city's public permits page does not state a solar-specific turnaround time or fee, so ask the department what the submission must contain, what it costs and what processing currently takes.
I rent near the university. Can I get solar?
Not directly. Buildings of 20 or more apartments are 25.8 percent of Saint Cloud's housing, and there the roof and usually the account any generation would offset belong to the owner. The route is a written proposal to them covering cost, equipment ownership, insurance and roof replacement.
Which utility serves Saint Cloud?
Our record does not name one, and we will not guess. Read the name off your bill, then ask that utility how net excess generation is compensated and at what rate. Minnesota has investor-owned, municipal and cooperative utilities and they do not all treat customer generation the same way.
Is the 30 percent federal credit still available?
Not on a purchase placed in service after December 31, 2025, when the Section 25D residential credit ended. A lease or power purchase agreement provider may claim the business version under Section 48E and reflect part of it in your rate, which is a question for the provider and a tax advisor.

Ready to start?

Get matched with a vetted local installer in minutes.