QC · Solar

Solar quotes in Mont-Saint-Hilaire, QC.

One real quote from a vetted local Mont-Saint-Hilaire installer, sized to your roof, your bill, and every federal + provincial rebate you qualify for.

Permits in ~30 days One vetted local installer · no lead list
What you get
  • One vetted local Mont-Saint-Hilaire installer
  • Rebates checked for your exact address
  • No call-center spam, no lead list
7 kW
Average system size
$3.00/W
Average cost (CAD)
18 yrs
Average payback
30+
Local installers

Why solar in Mont-Saint-Hilaire

Mont-Saint-Hilaire publishes a processing target, and an honest admission of when it slips. The city aims to handle permit applications within 30 working days, and says that can run past 30 days from April to September when the planning department receives more than 15 applications a day. For a homeowner that is a genuine scheduling lever, because applying outside the busy months is within your control. The second local point is less comfortable: a plan d'implantation et d'integration architecturale review may apply depending on the property, and the city's page does not say whether solar panels trigger it. Roughly 63 percent of the town's 7,765 dwellings are single-detached houses, so most residents control the roof themselves.

What we install on in Mont-Saint-Hilaire

Mont-Saint-Hilaire's housing stock, briefly.

Mont-Saint-Hilaire is majority single-detached (63% of 7,765 dwellings), with a substantial low-rise apartment share (27.1%) and almost no high-rise stock, so most homeowners control their own roof, though a meaningful minority will need a building owner's sign-off.

Source: www150.statcan.gc.ca

  • 63% of dwellings are single-detached houses.
  • 27.1% are low-rise apartments (under 5 storeys).
  • High-rise apartments are effectively absent (0%).
  • Semi-detached, row houses and duplexes together are under 10% of the stock.

Source: www150.statcan.gc.ca

HOA reality: Quebec has no US-style HOAs; Mont-Saint-Hilaire's own permit process notes that a plan d'implantation et d'intégration architecturale (PIIA) review can apply depending on the property, without specifying which project types trigger it.
Source: villemsh.ca

The 30 day target, and the months when it slips

Mont-Saint-Hilaire aims to process permit applications within 30 working days. It also says plainly that the target can slip past 30 days between April and September, when the planning department receives more than 15 applications a day. That is candid, and it is directly actionable: the same application filed in November is likely to move faster than one filed in May, purely because of the queue in front of it.

If your project has any flexibility, use it. Apply in the quieter half of the year even if the installation is planned for the spring, since an approval in hand removes the item most likely to move your date. If it does not have flexibility, at least price the risk honestly, and do not accept a contract whose deposit is exposed to an approval date the city has described as conditional on its own workload.

Whichever month you file in, a complete application is the other half of the equation. A file missing a document sits in the queue twice. Ask the planning department what a rooftop installation submission has to contain, and agree in writing with your installer who assembles it, who submits it and who follows up.

The architectural review question the city leaves open

Depending on the property, a plan d'implantation et d'integration architecturale review, a PIIA, may also apply in Mont-Saint-Hilaire. The city's own permit process notes that, but it does not specify which project types trigger the review, and it does not say whether rooftop solar is among them.

That ambiguity is worth resolving before anything is designed rather than after. Architectural review is about how a change reads, so where it applies it can determine which roof plane is acceptable, and roof plane determines production. A review discovered late does not just add weeks; it can force a redesign that changes the output and therefore the whole case for the project.

Ask the planning department two specific questions about your address: whether the property is in an area subject to PIIA review, and whether a roof-mounted solar array is a project type that triggers it. If the answer to both is yes, ask what the submission requires and how visibility from the street is assessed, and get a production estimate from your installer for each roof plane that might realistically be approved.

Confirm which utility bills you, then which programme applies

Our record for Mont-Saint-Hilaire does not name an electricity distributor, so this page will not tell you who yours is. In Quebec that question has more than one possible answer: most of the province is served by Hydro-Quebec, but a number of municipalities run their own electric utility with their own rules on customer generation. Check the name on your bill before assuming anything, because the answer decides which programme, if any, you can enrol in.

If Hydro-Quebec bills you, the provincial arrangement is net metering for self-consumption: surplus solar is credited in kilowatt-hours against future bills rather than paid out in dollars, and the capacity limit on the option was raised from 50 kW to 1 MW in 2026, far above anything a house needs. The rule that should drive your system size is the reset: credits reset every 24 months, on 31 March of the even year following enrolment, and any balance left at that point is settled at a rate well below the retail price you pay to buy electricity back.

The practical consequence is the same either way. Size the array to what your household actually consumes over a year rather than to the roof area available, and give your installer twelve months of your own kilowatt-hour totals to work from. If a municipal utility bills you instead, ask it directly and in writing whether a customer-owned generator may connect, what happens to exported electricity, and what interconnection and metering are required, before you sign anything.

The housing stock and the roof itself

Mont-Saint-Hilaire has 7,765 dwellings and 63 percent of them are single-detached houses, so most residents own their roof and can decide alone. Low-rise apartments are 27.1 percent of the stock, a meaningful minority where the roof belongs to a landlord or to a syndicate of co-owners rather than to a resident, and where the first document to read is the lease or the declaration of co-ownership. Semi-detached houses, row houses and duplexes together are under 10 percent, and high-rise apartments are effectively absent, so shading from tall buildings is not a local factor.

For a house, production comes down to orientation, shade and the roof covering. An unshaded slope facing generally south produces the most; east and west slopes still produce but give up output; a north slope rarely repays the hardware. Shading is the costliest problem because it removes production in the middle of the day, and it needs to be assessed across the year rather than on the afternoon of the site visit, since a bare tree in April is a full canopy by July.

Check the roof covering before anything else. Panels outlast most coverings, so one within a few years of replacement should be replaced first, rather than paying later to remove and reinstall the array. In a town where a permit can take 30 working days and may attract an architectural review on top, doing the work in the wrong order also means going through that process twice.

Grants and financing

Hydro-Quebec's LogisVert residential solar grant pays $1,000 per kW of installed capacity and covers up to 40 percent of eligible project costs, typically landing around $5,000 to $6,000 on a residential system. Installations must be completed on or after June 30, 2025, and the claim is filed through the LogisVert portal within 9 months of the installation date. Hydro-Quebec's own projection is that this brings a typical residential payback from 25 to 30 years down to roughly 10 to 12 years.

If a municipal utility rather than Hydro-Quebec bills your address, confirm eligibility with the programme in writing before you sign a contract. And in any case, treat the filing as a deliverable with an owner: decide in the contract whether you or the installer submits it, keep the itemised cost breakdown, and set a reminder against the 9 month window measured from the installation date, because it cannot be reopened.

Federally the options have narrowed. The Canada Greener Homes Loan, interest-free up to $40,000, stopped accepting new applications on October 2, 2025, and only previously approved loans are still being funded. The Canada Greener Homes Affordability Program replaced it in September 2025, delivering no-cost retrofits through provincial partners for low- to median-income households, with solar PV federally eligible but each province setting its own technology list. Canada has no federal investment tax credit for residential solar.

Incentives & rebates

Last verified:

Federal Closed

Canada Greener Homes Loan

$40,000 financing available

Interest-free federal financing for home energy retrofits. Closed to new applicants; only previously approved loans are still being funded.

View official source → Updated

Net metering: Hydro-Québec option d'autoproduction

Hydro-Québec's option d'autoproduction is 1:1 net metering in kilowatt-hours: surplus kWh enter a banque de surplus and are deducted from later consumption at the customer's own tariff prices, and article 2.50 of the 2026 tariff keeps the bill from going negative. The bank is zeroed every 24 months, on 31 March of an even year, and article 2.51 credits any remaining balance to the account at the average cost of supply, 4.730 cents per kWh, rather than paying it out. Self-generation is capped at 1,000 kW. Residential Tarif D is a two-tier volumetric rate, not time-of-use: 7.065 cents per kWh on the first block (40 kWh times the days in the period) and 11.142 cents on the rest. Six municipalities run their own distributors (Sherbrooke, Saguenay's Jonquière borough, Alma, Magog, Baie-Comeau and Westmount) and are not on this arrangement, as is part of Saint-Hyacinthe, served by the Coopérative d'électricité de Saint-Jean-Baptiste.

How payback works in Quebec

System cost
$23,953
Estimated net cost
$23,953
Estimated payback
~18.0 years
25-year net savings
~$9,315

These figures are illustrative; your actual quote reflects your roof, sun exposure, and local utility rates.

Frequently asked questions

How long does a permit take in Mont-Saint-Hilaire?
The city aims for 30 working days, and says that can slip past 30 days between April and September when the planning department receives more than 15 applications a day. Applying outside those months is the one scheduling lever you control, alongside submitting a complete file.
Does a PIIA review apply to solar panels here?
The city says a plan d'implantation et d'integration architecturale review can apply depending on the property, but it does not specify which project types trigger it or whether solar is among them. Ask the planning department about your address specifically, before a layout is designed, because architectural review can determine which roof plane is acceptable.
Which utility serves Mont-Saint-Hilaire?
Our record does not name one, so check the name on your electricity bill. Most of Quebec is served by Hydro-Quebec, but several municipalities run their own utility with different rules on customer generation, and the answer determines which self-generation programme, if any, is open to you.
How big a system should I buy?
Size it to your household's annual consumption rather than to the roof area available. Under the provincial net metering arrangement, surplus is credited in kilowatt-hours against future bills, but credits reset every 24 months on 31 March of the even year following enrolment and any balance is settled well below the retail price. Twelve months of your own kilowatt-hour totals are the right input.

Ready to start?

Get matched with a vetted local installer in minutes.